Menu Close

Mainstreaming Human Rights Award

This Mainstreaming Human Rights Award will be awarded by the Human Rights Commission, a Constitutional institution established in terms of the Constitution Act 108 of 1996.

Through its networks such as the NHRI, the SAHRC would provide nominees with the following “rewards”;

  • Through the SAHRC partnership with the United Nations Division for Social Policy and Development, Department of Economic and Social Affairs; the SAHRC will provide a training course on Disability to  the winning department.  This training will be provided for thirty participants over a four day course at the SAHRC facility in Braamfontein.
  • Technical support for development of Human Rights Mainstreaming Policy for the department.
  • Rewards such as electronic equipment.

Three criteria will be used in judging this award;

  1. Policies
  2. Programmes
  3. Services

In addition to these criteria, nominees will also be provided with a `’Best Practise Model” where they can provide a write up on why (and how) they believe their government department has mainstreamed human rights.


Nominate an Individual for a Gender Mainstreaming Awards category.


Nominate a company for a Gender Mainstreaming Awards category.

Our Sponsors

Sponsor: 30% Club
Johnny Walker
Sponsor: Sunday Times
Sponsor: South African Human Rights Commision

Not for persons under the age of 18. Drink responsibly.